board members

board members

EADSM board - the team

from left to right: Niki Netzer, Susanne Schwarting, Francesca Milano, Marc Braem, Marie Marklund, Rob Vrijhof, Anette Fransson, Roy Dookun

Meet the team!
The board of EADSM consist of 8 members.


Marc Braem


Prof. Dr. Marc Braem, D.D.S., PhD. (Belgium)
Universiteit Antwerpen – Universitair Ziekenhuis Antwerpen
tel: +32 3 821 33 89

Prof. Dr. Marc Braem graduated in 1975 as a dentist, and started his PhD thesis shortly thereafter. This resulted in the public defense of this thesis in 1980 in the field of dental composites and non-destructive mechanical testing. This topic gradually shifted towards fatigue testing of both composites and dental adhesives, developing proprietary equipment to deal with the small sample sizes. Since 1980 he became affiliated with the University of Antwerp (Belgium) where he is currently full professor and head of the Dental Materials Lab. Since 1992 he became involved in the Antwerp University Hospital where he was appointed as the head of the dental special care unit. With the Multidisciplinary Apnea & Snoring Clinic a first step was made into the dental support in the treatment of sleep apnea. This has gradually evolved into both clinical and research activities in this field, more specifically into the treatment based on oral appliances, more particular mandibular advancement devices (MAD). In order to master the flow and quality of this multidisciplinary treatment, a ‘Clinical Pathway MAD’ was established that is yearly followed by about 250 intake patients.
He has extensively published in peer-reviewed national and international journals on these topics resulting in an H-Index of 30. Also important grants on the national level were obtained competitively. He is now the president of the European Academy of Dental Sleep Medicine (EADSM) and preparing the Europe-wide accreditation in dental sleep medicine.


Anette Fransson


Dr. Anette Fransson, D.D.S., Odont Dr. (Sweden)
Responsible for the postgraduate education in orthodontics at the Postgraduate Dental Education Center, Örebro, Sweden

Earlier Head of the departments of Orthodontics, Stomatognathic Physiology and Dental Sleep Medicine Clinic
Defended my thesis 2003 “A mandibular protruding device in obstructive sleep apnea and snoring” at Sahlgrenska Academy at Göteborg University, Gothenburg, Sweden and continuing research primarily in the dental sleep medicine area.
Active nationally as a lecturer
Vice president in EADSM, member of the board since 2004


Marie Marklund

Scientific Coordinator

Associate Prof. Marie Marklund, D.D.S., Ph.D. (Sweden)
Associate Professor in Orthodontics, Medical Faculty, Umeå University
tel: +46 907856195

Her interest in snoring and sleep apnea started 30 yrs ago, when she during a course in nitrous oxide sedation got the idea to test an activator on a snoring husband. The treatment was very successful and became the start of a long collaboration with the Pulpmonary Department at Umeå University. After that time, many patients have been successfully treated with mandibular advancement devices (MADs) and a number of scientific articles have been published. Her research interests include treatment effects and side-effects of MADs. More recently she has focused on the symptomatic and cardiovascular effects from MAD, the long-term outcome and the management of side-effects. Marie Marklund has collaborated in sleep apnea research with Antwerp University Hospital, Belgium. She has lectured extensively over the world and published several articles about MAD treatment for OSA, including book chapters and a recently published Task Force for the European Respiratory Society. She has worked in the program committee for the American Academy of Dental Sleep Medicine.


Suzanne Schwarting


Dr. Susanne Schwarting, D.D.S. (Germany)
Currently President of the Deutsche Geselschaft für Zahnarztliche Schlafmedicin (DGZS, Germany)


Roy Dookun

International Liaison Officer

Dr. Roy Dookun , D.D.S. (United Kingdom)
Cleveland House Dental Practice – Guernsey | Wimpole Street – London
tel: +44 (0)1481 239060

Roy is a GDP with a special interest in the Dental management of snoring and obstructive sleep apnoea. He is the president and co founder of the British Society of Dental Sleep Medicine (BSDSM), a board member of the European Academy of Sleep Medicine and is co author of the BSDSM Snoring Pre treatment Screening Protocol. Roy works as part of a multi disciplinary team treating both apnoeic patients and simple snorers with dental appliances. He has most currently drawn up the Standards of Care Document for Mandibular Repositioning Devices which has been adopted by the Association for Respiratory Technology and Physiology. Roy holds EADSM ‘expert level’ accreditation, is a member of the Multidisciplinary Advisory Council and Core Teaching Faculty of the Australasian Academy of Dental Sleep Medicine and works in both Guernsey (Channel Islands. UK) and Wimpole Street, London


Francesca Milano

Meetings Officer

Dr. Francesca Milano, D.D.S. (Italy)
Specialist in Orthodontics
Rewarded whith the EADSM Fellowship in 2013
tel: +39 (0)51228084

Rob Vrijhof

P.R. Officer

Drs. Rob Vrijhof, D.D.S. (The Netherlands)
Universitair Ziekenhuis Antwerpen.
Since 2011 specialized practice in dental sleep medicine.
General dental practice in Maastricht since 1980.

tel: +31 43 3251573
apnea practice: Snurk + Apneu Center
general practice: mondzorg Jekerdal


Nike Netzer

Medical Advisor

Dr. Nikolaus Netzer, M.D., Ph.D. (Germany)
Nikolas is Editor-in-Chief at Sleep and Breathing journal.


You can contact the board members through the office in Antwerp